8 April 2018

Ianne finishes 7th at Commonwealth Games

Ianne has accomplished a 7th place at the Commonwealth Games in Gold Coast, Australia, finishing with an excellent result of a 116kg snatch, a 145kg jerk and a total of 261kg in the 62kg weightclass division. See full results here.

1 December 2015

Ianne competes at World Champs

Ianne was one of three athletes to represent New Zealand at the World Championships held in Houston, Texas.

4 April 2015

Ianne wins two awards

Ianne has won the Harold Gleghorn Memorial Trophy at the 2015 Auckland Olympic Weightlifting Championships. This award is given to the best overall lifter in the Auckland Championships from 2014 to 2015.

Ianne has also won the Best Senior Male award for his performance at the 2015 Auckland Olympic Weightlifting Championships. 

3 April 2015

Ianne qualifies for World Champs

During theAuckland Olympic Weightlifting Championships held on 3 April 2015, Ianne qualified for the IWF World Championships that will be held in Houston, USA, in November later this year. Ianne snatched 117kg and clean and jerked 146kg, with a bodyweight of 62kg. He broke six national NZ records during this competition, hitting Elite Grade.

25 July 2014

Games Session confirmed

Ianne will be lifting in the 62kg A session on Friday 25 July 7:30pm Glasgow time.

In New Zealand session A will be broadcasted live on Saturday 26 July 6:30am NZ time on Sky Sport 7.

Details will be posted on the Glasgow website here.

1 July 2014

Television appearance 24 July

An interview with Ianne, his brother Lou Guiñares and New Zealand coach Tina Ball will appear on Thursday 24 in the sport show Code on Maori Television. The show starts at 8.30pm NZ time. The episode will be repeated on Friday 25 July at 9.30pm NZ time.

29 June 2014

NZ Herald article

Ianne and his brother Lou Guiñares appeared in last Saturday’s NZ Herald Sports section. To read the article online click here.

12 June 2014

Commonwealth Games  Team Announcement

The 2014Commonwealth Games Olympic Weightlifting Team has been announced. View the complete list of selected athletes here.